NASHVILLE #16

2017-2018 Nashville Board

OFFICER

NAME & FIRM

EMAIL ADDRESS

PresidenT

Heather Lee

heatherlee@accousti.com

 

Accousti Engineering Company

 

Vice President

Nichole Collyard

nichole.collyard@rogersgroupinc.com
 

Rogers Group Inc.

 

Secretary

Rachael Treadway

rtreadway@battenshaw.com
 

Batten/Shaw Construction

 

Immediate Past President

Tiffany Collins

tcollins@messer.com

 

Messer Construction Co.

 

Treasurer

Rochelle Pritt

rochelle.reigard@gradeaservices.com

 

Grade A Construction

 

Director

Brandy George

brandy@musiccitymasonry.com

 

Music City Masonry

 

Director

Angie Thurman

angie.thurman@rogersgroupinc.com
  Rogers Group  
Director Marian Henderson marian_henderson@us.aflac.com
  Aflac  
Director Elizabeth Scruggs esbsms@aol.com
  Superior Construction and Design  

       The Nashville Chapter #16 of the National Association of Women in Construction was chartered on January 31, 1959, with 32 chartering members. Our chapter was the 16th chapter within the National Association to be chartered.

How did the Nashville Chapter get started?  Mr. T. E. Akers (known to most as Jack Akers), now deceased, owner of a general contracting firm, T. E. Akers & Company, attended a meeting of contractors and learned about NAWIC from a man in Memphis.  Mr. Akers thought such an association would be of mutual benefit to the construction employers and the ladies working in their offices.  He suggested that his “gal Friday” Marion Beazley see how many women would be interested in a NAWIC chapter in Nashville.  There were 32 women willing to make the commitment to organize this chapter.  Marion Beazley served as the first chapter president.

The Nashville Chapter of NAWIC strives to be an integral part of the construction community as well as the community at large in the Nashville Area.  Our members are respected in both the construction industry and Nashville.